Back Matter

About the Authors

How to Cite:

(2022) “About the Authors”, Music & Politics 16(2): 5. doi:

Dan Blim is an Associate Professor of Music at Denison University. He has published on topics including John Adams’s On the Transmigration of Souls, Harry Smith’s Anthology of American Folk Music, narrative realism in stage and screen musicals, Edward MacDowell’s Indianist piano works, and music at Donald Trump’s presidential inauguration. He has been the recipient of the University of Rochester’s Humanities Center Fellowship and the Society of American Music’s H. Wiley Hitchcock Dissertation Award.

Nathan Platte is Associate Professor of Musicology at the University of Iowa, where he also holds an affiliated appointment in Cinematic Arts. His research explores the music and sound of Hollywood’s studio era from a variety of angles, including the collaborative process of film scoring, the intersection of technology and music, the role of studio orchestras, and soundtrack albums. The author of Making Music in Selznick’s Hollywood (2018), Platte is also the producer and cohost of the podcasts Sounding Cinema and FilmCastPodScene.

Jessica Vansteenburg is Visiting Instructor of Musicology at the University of Arkansas Fayetteville. She holds a PhD in ethnomusicology from the University of Colorado Boulder and a DMA in clarinet from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. In both fields, she specializes in music of the Hungarian-speaking community. Her current project investigates popular music and national identity among Hungarians in Romania. She also researches pedagogy and preservation in transnational context through traditional music in Romanian Moldavia and flamenco in the United States.

Amy Lynn Wlodarski is Charles A. Dana Professor of Music at Dickinson College, where she teaches music history and conducts the college choir. She is the author of George Rochberg, American Composer: Personal Trauma and Artistic Creativity (2019) and Musical Witness and Holocaust Representation (2015). A recipient of the Lockwood Award (AMS) and the Irving Lowens Award (SAM), her scholarship has been supported by grants from the Fulbright Commission, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Presser Foundation, Harvard University, and the Paul Sacher Stiftung. She is currently Editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American Musicological Society.